Awards & Recognitions

JK Cement Architect of the Year Awards

JK Cement Architect of the Year Awards were instituted by JK Cement Ltd in 1990. These are blind reviewed by a jury comprising of national and international architects. These awards are backed by its sponsor's core philosophy of awarding and felicitating architects in India and overseas since 1990.

Speaking about the awards, Yadupati Singhania, Managing Director of J.K. Cement remarked, “You must be aware that construction related activities contribute greatly to the upliftment of the economy and betterment of the living standard of people. Architecture in developing countries is subject to various challenges with respect to town planning, infrastructure development and affordable housing. Increasingly, the modern construction industry is marked with tremendous innovative ideas, most of which are unfortunately going unrecognized.

Hence, the rationale for instituting these awards is relevant in this context and to our business. Being the pioneers in having instituted the ’Architect of the Year Award’ (AYA), we are truly delighted and proud to see it complete 20 glorious years. The AYA is a unique platform that applauds the outstanding efforts made by architects from India and her neighbours from the subcontinent (Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Seychelles, Nepal, Mauritius, Bhutan and Maldives), felicitating these professionals for their contribution with the motive of setting benchmarks and achieving kaizen in the standards of Architecture. The jury determines the recipient of these awards solely on the basis of merit.”

The jury for AYA is chaired by Managing Director of J.K. Cement Ltd., Y.P. Singhania and comprises eminent architects from various regions of India and two members representing the focus countries (out of the SAARC nations comprising of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Seychelles, Nepal, Mauritius, Bhutan and Maldives). The awards receives an overwhelming number of entries, reinforcing the fact that AYA has grown into one of the most credible and prestigious awards for architecture in the Indian subcontinent.